Who needs a visa to visit Bulgaria?

Nationalities that don’t require a visa

Who needs a visa to visit Bulgaria?

Whether or not you need a visa to Bulgaria depends on a variety of factors: your nationality, the purpose and the expected duration of your stay, as well as other things like family relations and your employment status.

Citizens of the following countries can visit Bulgaria for up to 90 days within each six-month period without a visa:

Andorra, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, El Salvador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Guatemala, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Malta, Malaysia, Mexico, Monaco, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Netherlands, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Poland, Portugal, Republic of Korea, Romania, San Marino, SAR - China (Hong Kong, Macao), Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, UK (British Citizen Passport Holders and British Nationals /Overseas/ only), USA, Uruguay, the Vatican, Venezuela.

Citizens of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia can enter Bulgaria without a visa for a maximum of 30 days in any six-month period.

All other nationalities require a visa for any visit to Bulgaria.

This article is an extract from Buying a Home in Bulgaria from Survival Books.

Further reading

Does this article help?

Do you have any comments, updates or questions on this topic? Ask them here:

Other comments

  • Emil Steam, 29 December 2009 Reply

    Nationalities that don’t require a visa

    Citizen of all EU countries as well as Norway and Switzerland could enter and stay in Bulgaria for unlimited period of time.
    EU citizens are not required to have international passports, just ID cards.