Do you need a visa to visit Croatia?

Nationalities with visa exemptions

Whether or not you need a visa to Croatia depends on a variety of factors: your nationality, the purpose and the expected duration of your stay, as well as other conditions such as family relations and your employment status.

The citizens of the following countries do not require a visa (either a passport or national identity card is sufficient) to enter and stay in Croatia:

Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Cyprus, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, the UK and Vatican City.

The citizens of following countries do not require a visa (either a passport or national identity card is sufficient) to enter Croatia and stay for a period of up to 90 days:

Albania, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Korea, Liechtenstein, Macau, Malaysia, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Norway, Panama, Paraguay, Russia (with an original invitation letter or tourist voucher), Saint Kitts and Nevis, Serbia, Seychelles, Singapore, Turkey, Uruguay, the USA and Venezuela.

Nationals of all other countries

Citizens of all remaining countries need to apply for a visa prior to travelling to Croatia. If this applies to you, get in touch with the Croatian embassy or consulate in your home country, or the country of your current residence.

Croatia has been part of the European Union since 2013 but is not part of the Schengen area yet, though it has applied for membership. In the meantime, people holding a valid Schengen visa don’t need any additional documents to enter Croatia and stay for up to 90 days. A visa granted by one of the Schengen countries is valid in the whole Schengen area.

There are 26 Schengen member states, including four outside the EU. As of April 2013 they are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.

Does this article help?

Do you have any comments, updates or questions on this topic? Ask them here:

Other comments

  • Chris Economou, 18 February 2013 Reply

    Forgot something?

    I find it very strange that GREECE is missing from the list of 'All EU countries' in the article, being a member since 1981. Not to mention that European history originates in Greece.

    • Just Landed 19 Mar 2013, 01:17


      Hi Chris,
      Thanks for bringing this to our attention. We have added Greece accordingly.