Double-Taxation Treaties

What countries have treaties with South Africa?

Double-Taxation Treaties

The following is the status in October 2010 of agreements to avoid double-taxation of income accruing to South African taxpayers from foreign sources, and to foreign taxpayers from South African sources.

Comprehensive agreements are in place with: Algeria, Australia, Austria, Belarus, Belgium, Botswana, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Korea, Kuwait, Lesotho, Luxembourg, Malawi, Malaysia, Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, the People’s Republic of China, Poland, Portugal, Romania, the Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, the Seychelles, Singapore, the Slovak Republic, Spain, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Tanzania, Thailand, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, the United Kingdom (newly updated and also extending to Grenada and Sierra Leone), the United States of America, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Comprehensive agreements have been ratified in South Africa with Brazil, Nigeria, New Zealand and Rwanda.

New or updated comprehensive agreements have been signed, but not ratified, with: the Democratic Republic of Congo, Gabon, Mexico, Rwanda and Sudan. Comprehensive agreements have been negotiated or renegotiated, but not signed, with Angola, Bangladesh, Bahrain, Bulgaria, Cameroon, Chile, Cuba, Estonia, Germany, Ghana, Kenya, Kuwait, Latvia, Lithuania,Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Morocco, Namibia, the Netherlands, Portugal, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Spain, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, Vietnam, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Further reading

Does this article help?

Do you have any comments, updates or questions on this topic? Ask them here: