Short-stay visas

Visas for stays up to 3 months

A visa is issued for a limited period of time for Sweden and other Schengen countries. Any stay in Sweden that exceeds a three month time period will require a residence permit rather than a visa.

Who needs a Swedish visa?

Nordic nationals are allowed to enter and work in Sweden for an unlimited period of time. EU and EEA nationals do not need a visa and are allowed to enter and work in Sweden for a period of three months without permit. If you want to stay longer you then need to register for a residence and/or work permit. Nationals of many other countries who do not have specific visa requirements may enter without a visa for up to three months, however they are not allowed to work during this time.

Citizens of certain other countries must apply for a visa. This visa will enable them to stay in Sweden and other Schengen countries for up to three months. They are not permitted to take up employment during this time.

The nationals of the following countries need a visa to enter Sweden:

Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Rep., Chad, China (excluding Hong Kong and Macao), Colombia, Comoros, Congo Rep. Dem., Congo Rep., Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Fiji, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, North Korea, Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau Islands, Papua New Guinea, Peru, The Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, St. Lucia, St. Vincent & the Grenadines, Samoa, Sao Tomé & Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Surinam, Swaziland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad & Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Nationals of FYROM, Montenegro and Serbia do not require a visa if they are holders of a biometric Passport.

Applying for a Swedish visa and requirements

Visa applications can be made at Swedish embassies or consulates around the world. In some cases Sweden is represented by the diplomatic mission of another Nordic State. Usually, if there is no Swedish representation, another Schengen country’s diplomatic mission will handle all visa applications on Sweden’s behalf. A list of all Swedish diplomatic missions and agreements can be found here .
With your application you will need to provide the following documents:

You may also be required to present other documents that indicate the purpose of your trip, as well as how long you intend to stay in Sweden. This can be in the form of travel tickets, confirmed hotel reservations or an official invitation. If you are making a private visit, you should include details about the person you are visiting. In some cases you may even be asked to attend an interview to discuss the purpose of your visit.

These conditions apply from the time at which your visa is issued, as well as the start of your stay in any of the Schengen countries. Failure to meet these conditions may result in having your visa confiscated and revoked, meaning you would have to leave the Schengen region immediately.

More information

Here is a list of helpful official Swedish government websites with more information about visas: © 2003-2021 Just Landed