Official Ghanaian languages

English and local languages

Official Ghanaian languages

English is the official language of Ghana and is used in politics, media, education, legal affairs and official documents. However, there are 11 other official languages in the country. You may want to check which local language is spoken in the region you are moving to.

As well as English, the government sponsors eleven official languages via the Bureau of Ghana Languages. These are:

  • Akan / Twi:These can be split into three separate languages:
    • Kuapem
    • Asante
    • Mfantse
  • Dagaare / Waale: spoken in upper western region
  • Dangme: spoken in greater Accra
  • Dagbani: spoken by 3 % of the Ghanaians in the north east of the country
  • Ewe: spoken by 10 % of the Ghanaians in the Volta Region of Ghana (east part of the country)
  • Ga: which is the spoken dialect in Accra (Ghanaian capital) and its region
  • Gonja: spoken in northern region of Ghana
  • Kasem: spoken in Upper Eastern Region
  • Nzema: spoken in the southwestern part of the country

Akan languages

The Akan languages are tonal languages (which uses low, mid and high tones), and is based on the latin alphabet. The letters ‘Q’ and ‘X’ are adapted, as can be seen below.

Aa Bb Cc Dd Ee Ff Gg Hh Ii Jj Kk Ll Mm Nn Oo Pp Ɛɛ Rr Ss Tt Uu Vv Ww Ɔɔ Yy Zz

These languages are also spoken in parts of the Ivory Coast.

Ga language

The Ga language is spoken in Ghana as well as in Niger and Congo. This language has two tones (high and low) that are terraced. The alphabet is also very similar to the latin alphabet:

Aa Bb Dd Ee Ɛɛ Ff Gg Hh Ii Jj Kk Ll Mm Nn Ŋŋ Oo Ɔɔ Pp Rr Ss Tt Uu Vv Ww Yy Zz

Further reading

Does this article help?

Do you have any comments, updates or questions on this topic? Ask them here: