The currency in Norway


The Krone (pronounced krona) is the official currency unit of the countries that were once part of the Scandinavian Monetary Union (Denmark, Norway and Sweden). Unlike the other member states, Norway hasn't joined the European Union and has kept its original currency.

The noun Krone has been translated into English as 'Crown'. The abbreviation is 'kr', which appears on price tags, while the code symbol is NOK.

The Krone is divided into 100 øre. Currently the coins in use in Norway are:

  • 50 øre
  • 1 krone
  • 5 kroner
  • 10 kroner
  • 20 kroner

Norwegian bank notes are:

  • 50 kroner
  • 100 kroner
  • 200 kroner
  • 500 kroner
  • 1000 kroner

The value of the Norwegian currency changes substantially from year to year due to the fluctuation of oil prices.

Further reading

Does this article help?

Do you have any comments, updates or questions on this topic? Ask them here: